As promised, here comes the Blogathon, and for my first post I wanted to talk about this blog in general. Specifically, how it was made/how it functions, so anyone who wants to make something similar can have a better idea as to what to expect.

This blog is hosted on neocities, hence the ".neocities.org" after my blog name. Even if you know nothing of coding, you might have seen that name passed around during discussions on web 2.0. Essentially, it's a host for websites. Which is cool! Endless customization on your part! Yey! But also, whatever website you're gonna build, you're gonna have to build it from scratch. Unyey.

That's the theory at least. In practice, if like me you've got limited knowledge of html (or if you want to save time) there are templates you can use. Mine is Zonelets, you can find a link to it at the bottom of literally any page of this site (you know, the "this was written by verse and powered by zonelets" in small right there.) I really rec Zonelets tbh because it comes with a bunch of tutorials on how to fuck around with that template, which will teach you a lot.

Even with a template though, bear in mind that this isn't really a social media. There's no easy "new post" button. In the case of zonelets, everytime I make a new post, I need to encode the italics/bolds/links/ect myself (which is why I use as few images as possible in my post, these are a pain to add here.) Once a post is made, I have to manually encode it both on the appropriate fandom page and on the front page. It's not particularly difficult, but it is more tedious than making a tweet.

Alright, I hope that gave you some insight as to now I keep uploading things here, and how to make your own blog if you feel like it. See you guys in one hour!

This blogathon aims to raise money for Pillowfort, a social media that is entirerely user-funded. If you can afford to, it would be very nice of you to donate some money to keep it running. If you do not have a pillowfort account, you can donate by making an account for 5usd. If you do have an account, you can donate through the donation tab. If you do not have a credit card, you can donate to my ko-fi and I will transfer that money to pillowfort on your behalf. If you cannot afford to donate but wish to see pillowfort for yourself, refer to this post for free invite keys.